Design for Digital: Research, Research, Research!

I have started research for the new brief, ‘Design for Digital’ where my concept involves combining the eighteenth century with that of the twenty-first.

I am pleased with my concept – the idea of combining animal hybrids and scientific innovations – and think it links the two eras together well, whilst allowing lots of scope for fun design ideas and giving me lots of room to work with in terms of altering my design direction as the weeks progress if I need to. So far I have visited The Deep in Hull and the Leeds Discovery Centre for research, where I have taken lots of photographs and done lots of drawings.

Drawings from The Deep.
Drawings from The Deep.

Capturing lots of visuals has been useful in that it has inspired me with different animals to draw, which I have then been able to develop into collages and illustrations. I have also focused on fish/animal skins as a way into designing surface pattern, examining the textures and details and making more detailed observational drawings of these.

Close-up fish scales drawing.
Close-up fish scales drawing.

Making collages and painting into existing paintings has been a fun way into research, and I am already enjoying the module and am looking forward to progressing further. To improve I want to add even more drawings to my initial body of primary research, and begin to work with these in Photoshop.

2014-11-21 11.32.53 2014-11-21 11.33.00

Leave a comment